16-Hour Cometology Renewal Course
Course Approval Number: 0501060
For the following license types:
- Nail Specialist
- Facial Specialist
- Full Specialist
Hair Braider, Hair Wrapper, or Body Wrapper?
How does this work?
- Immediate Access to Course Materials
- Unlimited Exam Attempts
- Certificate of Completion available for download or print
- Compatible with any device: Mobile, Tablet, Computer
Due to Hurricane Michael, the Board of Cosmetology has extended the license renewal deadline from October 31st to November 30th, 2018. (source)
Renew Your License in 3 Simple Steps
- Buy this 16-hour renewal package. (It includes all the CE required for renewal, and it works on any device.)
- Complete the course exam. (It’s open book style, with unlimited attempts. You can’t fail.)
- Complete the renewal application. (We’ll send you the renewal link as soon as you complete the exam.)
Renewal Information and FAQ’s
Whether this is your first or fifth renewal, we know your time is valuable and we want to help you complete your renewal requirements in a simple and easy to use format.
Maybe you know exactly which courses you need to renew your license and want to get started. If you do, go ahead and click here to complete this 16-hour Florida Cosmetology Board-Approved course now.
If you have some other questions before you begin, keep reading. We are going to answer the most common questions we receive about renewing a Florida license or registration.
When do I renew my license?
Not everyone licensed or registered by the Board of Cosmetology renews at the same time. You belong to one of two renewal groups. All licenses and registrations issued by the Cosmetology Board need to be renewed biennially, or every two years.
These licenses and registrations expire October 31st of odd years (2019, 2021, 2023).
These licenses and registrations expire October 31st of even years (2018, 2020, 2022).
If you do not know which group you belong to, check your displayed license, or look online here.
What courses are required to renew my license or registration issued by the Board of Cosmetology?
All Florida licensed cosmetologists or registered specialists (Nail, Facial, and Full Specialists) are required to complete a minimum of 16 hours continuing education each biennial period before renewing their license.
There is a minimum number of hours required in each of these topics:
- 3 hours of Sanitation and Sterilization
- 2 hours of HIV/AIDS and other communicable diseases
- 2 hours of Florida and Federal Laws and Rules
- 2 hours of Chemical Makeup related to the Hair, Skin, and Nails
- 1 hour of Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) regulations
- 1 hour of issues of Workers’ Compensation related to Florida law
- 1 hour of Environmental Issues
- 4 hours of Continuing Education Electives
The electives include additional instruction in any of the courses approved by the State of Florida for the purpose of continuing education.
Electives may include (not exhaustive): sugaring, threading, airbrush techniques, waxing refresher, retail, self-care, or human trafficking. The course must be approved by the Florida Board of Cosmetology.
All of the above courses add up to 16 hours of continuing education.
There are different continuing education requirements for other registrations regulated by the Board of Cosmetology. This includes:
- Hair Braiders
- Hair Wrappers
- Body Wrappers
Florida registered Hair Braiders, Hair Wrappers, and Body Wrappers must complete a 2 hour HIV/AIDS continuing education update course each renewal. There are no other CE requirements for these registrations.
Can I take the course package online?
Yes! Florida allows all professions under the cosmetology board to complete all of the required renewal courses online. There is not a hands-on/live requirement to renew a license or registration.
Is this course package approved by the Florida Board of Cosmetology?
We are a Florida Board of Cosmetology approved provider (#0007442). Course number: 0501060
Do I need to report my completed continuing education hours?
No. Florida board-approved providers must report completed continuing education credits to The Bureau of Education and Testing within 30 days of completion, 10 days if it is near the October 31st renewal date.
As a courtesy, we report your completed course credits within 24 business hours of successful completion of the course exam.
How do I complete the course package?
After purchase, the course reading material and exam are immediately available for you to access. You can get started on the course right away, or wait until you are ready. The course is self-paced and can be completed whenever it works for you.
The course package includes a 30 question multiple choice exam and course evaluation. Unlimited exam retakes are allowed if you do not reach the passing score.
After a passing score (75%) is achieved, a certificate will be available for you to download and print. We will automatically receive a notification of your exam completion, and we will report your hours to the Bureau which tracks continuing education for the Florida Board of Cosmetology.
What if I do not see my hours reported after 24 hours?
Check your transcript to make sure you provided us with the correct license number, then contact us here.
How do I renew my license once I complete the course package?
Here is the link to renew your license or registration.
How much does it cost to renew my license or registrations?
This depends on the type of license or registration you hold in Florida. Here are the current biennial license and registration renewal fees:
- Cosmetology License: $45
- Specialty Registrations
- Nail Specialist: $45
- Facial Specialist: $45
- Full Specialist: $45
- Salon Licenses
- Cosmetology Salons: $45
- Mobile Cosmetology Salon: $45
Each of the above fees includes a $5 unlicensed activity (ULA) fee.
If you are a hair braider, hair wrapper, or body wrapper, click here for your renewal information.
There are no continuing education requirements for salon or mobile salon licenses. All Salon licenses expire Novevember 30th (11/30) of even years (2018, 2020, 2022).
I let my license or registration expire and would like to get it active again? How do I do that?
Simply complete the continuing education requirements and pay the renewal fee.
Null and Void Status
If you have not renewed your license or registration for over two years, it is now considered “null and void.”
A null and void license cannot be reinstated unless the applicant demonstrates that he or she failed to renew the license due to an illness or economic hardship.
Cosmetologists are not required to re-take the Florida cosmetology examination if their license is null and void.
However, a null and void license must complete a board-approved initial 4-hour HIV/AIDS course and submit the course completion certificate with the below null and void application.
An HIV/AIDS course must be 4 hours long and completed within two years prior to submitting an application.
Need an online 4-hour HIV/AIDS course to your license reinstated? Click here to complete the 4-hour HIV/AIDS course.
Here is the Null and Void Application for Costmetologists, Nail Specialists, Facial Specialists, and Full Specialists.
Hopefully, we have answered all the questions you have about renewing your license or registration. If you still have other questions, let us know.
If you are ready to complete the 16-hour Florida Board of Cosmetology renewal package, the first thing you need to do is register here. Complete the course, then get back to enjoying the Florida sun and making your clients feel and look their best.